Uncategorized, Writing
Leave a Comment

How long does it take you to read The New Yorker cover to cover?

I just received an issue of The New Yorker at my office this morning. It was a late delivery, as usual. I was thrilled to get the copy buy was not too thrilled to see another cover illustration of President Trump. The editors need to stop making Trump cover illustrations for the magazine. I’m tried of seeing him so frequently on a legendary magazine. The blog post’s feature image is the issue that I received today.

I saw several interesting website articles about The New Yorker, and one of them was from the Wall Street Journal. According to the report, “The New Yorker’s print and digital subscriptions rose 2.5% to 1.04 million in the second half of 2015, according to the Alliance for Audited Media, including 88,000 paid digital subscriptions.” According to an annual report on American journalism, the median age of readers of The New Yorker is about 51.

A website discussion post talked about the time frame for reading The New Yorker magazine,  which I’m eager to find out myself. A similar question on the average hours for reading an entire issue of the magazine is posted on Quora.com. My favorite article had a hilarious title: “This Newsletter Helps You Fake-Read The New Yorker” (from observer.com).

Some of the comments said it took about three to four hours to read the whole thing, others said it could take up to a week to read it cover to cover. In my case, it takes more than several hours to finish the entire issue. Sometimes it can take up to 5 days to read the entire magazine. But I’m reading the magazine as a second language reader. I presume that my reading time frame is two to three times longer than native readers.

If English is your second language, it would be a great reading material but a daunting task. But the good thing is you don’t need to read everything and you don’t need to understand everything. Most likely you will find yourself skipping many pages and very likely you will not be able to get some of the jokes or comics appeared in the magazine. What you will get is a rewarding reading experience that is hard to find from your native language’s narrative journalism scene. Most assuredly, you will develop a taste of American literature and Western culture. You will also certainly develop your language skills.

I believe reading The New Yorker helps develop my writing skills. It gives me an enormous amount of quality language input which comes in a variety of forms, eloquent essays, elegant feature stories, critical reports, and short stories to name some. Reading quality writings is something that a writer needs to do everyday. A writer must read. And reading The New Yorker can only do you good. I have never met anyone who claims to be a big fan of the magazine that has terrible language skills. You may not get your stories published on the legendary magazine, but you will be close to the best writers and bright readers of the world. Reading The New Yorker make you feel like you’re making friends with the best authors, editors, journalists, and most important, readers of the world.

When I read the magazine, oftentimes I skip through a couple articles and read some of the sections that I believe many readers would have preferred to skip. For example, I like The Mail section a lot, reading real feedback from both US and international readers. I also like the section where all the contributors of this week’s issue are introduced. One of the contributing writers of this issue is Ms. Zadie Smith, whom I have heard of.  I have always liked The Going On About Town section, and have admired all of the long-form feature stories. I stare at this issue’s ‘Modern Times,’ cover design with a big cartoon version of President Trump at the center. I wonder if I will be able to finish the whole thing before the next issue arrives.

 

Leave a Reply

